Progress Pic! + Some Advice

20130405-005300.jpg

Here I am 15 pounds down y’all!!!

And weight is definitely NOT falling off me either. This took 4 months. FOUR. MONTHS. Of extreme hard work in the gym and changing my eating habits. Here are some tips I learned (and STILL learning) during this whole weight loss process:

1. Sometimes you won’t lose weight right away. I don’t know if my body had to adjust to the workouts or if it was trying to hold onto fat for dear life, but I didn’t lose weight for 3 months! The week I lost weight it was 4 pounds! Just keep working hard and you will eventually drop the pounds.

2. Weight lifting helps! I started taking CrossFit classes and I started to see results in 2 weeks. It really started slimming me out! It’s an intense workout, and it’s not for everybody, but I love it! It’s not just CrossFit that works, because not everyone has the time or money for that, but weights at the gym or at home works too. Ladies, LIFT HEAVY. No you will not look like a dude and you will not get bulky. You will tone up and look all kinds of awesome! Lift a weight that starts to get difficult at 6 or 7 reps. One thing my boyfriend taught me was to do 3 sets of 5 reps at 90% of my max weight and increase your weight every 2 weeks. I did this for bench press and leg press and I increased my weights dramatically in 3 months. I believe I have a previous post on my results from that. I’m too lazy right now to link it. Sorry!

3. Eating healthy is easy if you have a plan. Making dinner for the week and packing lunches everyday makes staying on track SO much easier! And eat breakfast!!! It is extremely important! Lean meats, fruit, and veggies! Stay away from fast food! And if you are going to eat out, eat in moderation. The boyfriend and I share one dish and drink only water. That reduces the calories AND the bill in HALF!

4. I hate cardio. But cardio is 100% something you must do to help with weight loss. What I learned is figure out what you like to do. Some people can run for 3-5 miles everyday. I am okay with doing sprints and watching Scandal on Netflix while on the elliptical for an hour. Do what works for you! Maybe split the hour between 3 different workouts like stairs for 20 min, elliptical for 20 min, and bike for 20 min. Maybe take a spin class or do Zumba! Experiment with different equipment/classes and see what you like.

5. Start off slowly. I know you want to be all gung-ho and cut out all fatty foods and workout 7 days a week. It works for some, but for me, slowly reducing the bad foods and working my way up to an hour of cardio worked. That’s what kept me on track. I tried to cut out everything but that didn’t last long. This is a lifetime change, and I will continue to try and stay healthy every day of my life.

Also weigh yourself once a week, first thing in the morning after you use the bathroom, and measure yourself! It’s amazing what little differences you will see in your body after working out consistently! 🙂

I hope this helps some of you who feel as stuck as I did and think that weight loss is only a dream. Make that dream a freaking reality! Just know that it’s not all about the number on the scale. It’s about how being healthy and in shape makes you feel! You got this!

Leave a Reply

