My CrossFit Experience!

Last week I finished my 2 weeks of CrossFit On-Ramp classes. These classes are designed to teach newbie Crossfitters (like me) about Olympic lifting, form, and gives you a scaled down version of what a regular CrossFit class is like. I learned a few things after these classes.

1. I LOVE weight lifting! Being able to lift a barbell over my head is a rush. I love strength training and the feeling of completing my reps is so awesome! I am even developing muscle definition on my body after only 2 weeks! Crazy.

2. CrossFit is HARD. This is no picnic ladies and gents. CrossFit pushes your body to its limits and it never gets easier. Whether you want to increase the weights you lift, do your reps faster, or increase your reps, your workouts will always be tough. ALWAYS.

3. I’m scared to take regular classes. I only got a small taste of what regular classes are like and to be completely honest, I’m terrified! I mean, doing an 18 minute AMRAP (As Many Rounds As Possible) is scary! Lifting weights over 100lbs and doing exercises I know I couldn’t even do one rep of…. I can barely do ONE pullup! I mean seriously, my upper body strength is abysmal.

I am going to my first CrossFit class tomorrow and I’m so scared. I don’t want to let myself down and I want to be able to keep up with others. But this leads me to the fourth lesson I am still in the process of learning:

4. You are only in competition with yourself! Yes there is most likely someone in your class who is stronger, faster, and overall more athletic than you. Yes you might end up being the last person to finish. But you have to remember that you are only in competition with yourself. You can’t compare yourself to others because their level of physical fitness is different than yours. Just think that finishing your WOD (Workout of the Day) dead last is still miles ahead of people who are still sitting on the couch!

I am an extremely competitive person and I am hard on myself all the time. So finishing a workout last or struggling to keep up is something that is really hard on my ego. BUT I know that with each workout I am only getting better, stronger, and faster. That’s the internal battle I am struggling with right now.

I only have 14 classes left on my Groupon for CrossFit and that will determine whether or not I signup for a membership.

Any CrossFitters out there have advice for a newbie like me? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

