The Color Run!

20120805-173621.jpg

On Saturday August 4, 2012 I ran my first ever 5k, The Color Run. When we got there there were THOUSANDS of people everywhere!! Many had costumes, tutus, wigs, etc. A lot of craziness! I was waiting in line to start running for over an hour. There were THAT many people at this event.

When it was my groups turn to go we were off! The first color we ran into was Yellow (1k). It was so powdery and I could barely breathe! The next color was Orange (2k) but it wasn’t bad. When we got to the water station they yelled “Keep going! You are half way there!” WHAT??! Half way already?? I wasn’t even that tired! Hard to believe I already ran 1.5 miles! When I got to the next color Burgundy (3k) I was starting to feel it. And I was definitely tired when I got to the last color Blue (4k).

Throughout the run I had to run around people and walk a couple times because it was so packed. But the last 200 meters or so I booked it! I picked it up and ran fast!! I guess it’s the track & field training that was drilled into me. No matter how tired I can always find some kind of energy to push myself at the end.

At the end they gave out granola bars, had music playing, and people were throwing their color packets in the air, covering people in MORE color!! It was awesome!

I am proud to say I successfully ran 3.1 miles and lived to tell the tale! Well technically 3.24 miles since running around people made my run a little longer. I completed it in 42 minutes. Its kind of hard to say what my exact time was because of the crowds and I had to wait for traffic to pass. I can’t wait for my next 5k in November: Run To Feed The Hungry!

20120805-172022.jpg
My boyfriend and his dad joined me! So much fun. I can’t wait to do this again next year.

2 thoughts on “The Color Run!

Leave a Reply

