Shin Splints!

As I was running on the treadmill on Tuesday I felt SHARP pain on the inside of my lower legs, between my calves and shins. The pain was intense and throbbing. I tried to walk it off and then try to do interval sprints but the pain was too much so I had to stop. FREAKING. SHIN SPLINTS. Because I have shin splints right now I haven’t been able to do my leg press workouts or run for the past 2 days. *sigh* This has set me back a little and it’s frustrating. I guess my body is telling me that I need to rest. I’ve also been icing it for the past 2 days.

What’s even more frustrating is that I haven’t officially lost any weight. Have I gained muscle? Aabsolutely. I’M BENCHING 100LBS NOW! My theory is that as of right now I’ve replaced fat with some muscle which is why my weight hasn’t gone down. Even though I haven’t lost weight, I am going to start taking measurements and see if I am losing inches.

Gotta keep moving and stay motivated!

9 thoughts on “Shin Splints!

  1. How new are your shoes? I have found that once I started getting shin splints and I wasn’t having them previously it was time for a new pair of shoes! Just a thought that may help you get running again!

    • My shoes are maybe 2 years old? Not worn or anything, I only wear them to the gym. Maybe I do need a new pair of running shoes. Any recommendations?

      • I agree with Tim on getting fit for your shoes. I haven’t done this yet, due to always ending up in town where the store is located on their closed day. 😦 I have had many different types I like so I say go get fit and see if that helps. I know I makes a big difference for myself and I have heard the same from many others as well!! Good Luck!

      • Thanks guys. I really do think I need to go get fitted for shoes because I am feeling pain in my shins AGAIN. It could also be from overuse and going back and forth from cement to treadmill.

  2. I think you will be surprised at how much of a difference a new pair of shoes makes. I had my shin splints consistently and then as soon as I got new shoes they were all better.

    • I am going to this running store downtown where staff members actually measure your feet, watch you run, and fit you for proper shoes! Thanks for your help!! I will definitely let you guys know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

