OWWW My groin!

As I was doing my Tabata Method sprints on Monday afternoon, there was a lady walking her huge dog. So to avoid her I changed direction and in doing so I pulled my groin muscle. Owwie! What is a groin pull you may ask?

What is a groin pull?
A groin pull is an injury to the muscles of the inner thigh. The groin muscles, called the “adductor muscle” group, consists of six muscles that span the distance from the inner pelvis to the inner part of the femur (thigh bone). These muscles pull the legs together, and also help with other movements of the hip joint. The adductor muscles are important to many types of athletes including sprinters, swimmers, soccer players, and football players.

It’s funny you don’t realize how often you use your groin muscle until it is sore/in pain! Moving my leg inward is painful and doing certain things hurts, like crossing my legs for example. I’m going to continue to ice it as often as I can and I hope be back to normal soon. It wasn’t too severe of a strain and I do feel a little better. I’m going to try to do my sprints again today and if I feel any discomfort or pain then I’ll stop and rest it again.

…………………………………………………………………….

So the bf was taught in his class that to build strength you should do 3 sets of 5 reps at 90% of your max weight. And if you do this for 12 weeks you will definitely see improvement. You should probably increase your weights every 2 weeks or when you feel that the weight you are at is getting too easy. This won’t get you HUGE and muscular, but will definitely get you stronger.

Right now my max and 90% weights are:

Max Leg Press: 335 lbs.   90% = 320 lbs.

Max Bench Press: 90 lbs.    90% = 80 lbs.

This was tough, and it gets really tiring, but I feel good today! Because of all the workouts I’ve been doing the past 2 weeks, I’ve been sore almost every day! Gotta push through though!

One thought on “OWWW My groin!

  1. Pingback: Strength & Progress | toneandfit

Leave a Reply

