Tabata Method

So my boyfriend was telling me of a great way for me to increase my V02 max, thus increasing my stamina when I workout. This is High-Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) called… The Tabata Method.

Here is the Tabata Method:

  • 3 minute warmup
  • 20 second sprints / 10 second walk (Repeat 8x)

I know your thinking, “Hey! That’s only 4 minutes!” Well it is only 4 minutes. 4 minutes of HELL. You don’t understand how LONG 20 seconds really is and how SHORT 10 seconds is. And you are sprinting at 100% capacity for 20 seconds with barely any rest in between. I have done the Tabata Method on Monday as well as yesterday and my body is SORE. My shoulders, lats, abs, quads, hammies, calves, Soleus muscle, and the arches of my feet… ALL sore. This is no joke.

I’m not doing this method so I can lose weight (though this method can decrease belly fat), this just so I gain muscle strength and increase my stamina for future workouts. I am going to do this for 5 weeks then try to run for distance to see how much my stamina has increased.

Has anyone else tried this method? How do you like it? Did you see results?

4 thoughts on “Tabata Method

  1. Pingback: OWWW My groin! | toneandfit

  2. My trainer has me do this and it is hard! But you feel great afterwards…I haven’t done it in a while and have noticed a big difference (much harder to run now than it was when I ran while doing this method!) I definitely recommend it

  3. Pingback: Body Fat | toneandfit

Leave a Reply

