Couch to 5k!

Okay so I’ve done Couch to 5k before and I only did it for 3 weeks. BUT in that 3 week period I found that I was able to go from running 1/2 a mile without stopping to 1 mile without stopping. I know I’ve said this over and over again in this blog, but I HATE RUNNING. I mean, I can’t breathe when I do it! My heart rate goes up to almost 200 bpm and I’m dying! My goal is to run a 5k by Thanksgiving. So gives me… *counts fingers*… 8 1/2 months to learn how to run 3.1 miles! That’s totally do-able right? *cries*

Does anyone have any tips on learning how to run 3.1 miles? How often should I run a week? If I am on the treadmill what speed should I run at? I read that you should take a day off in between runs. So maybe I should run Mon, Wed, Fri and do strength training Tues, Thurs, Sat? If I do that for 8 months straight I should be ready right? Sometimes I feel like a complete disappointment because I can’t run long distances. All of my friends can… even my overweight friends can run 10ks! Maybe that is my motivation to get running. I just don’t want to be a disappointment to myself anymore. It is so frustrating!

10 thoughts on “Couch to 5k!

  1. When it comes to running, consistency is key. However, start light on distance and gradually work your way up. If you run/walk regularly (i.e 3 times a week), you will be doing 5ks in no time! Good luck.

  2. Dawn, the first thing I would tell you to do is find a reason why you are doing this. When you have that post it on a mirror or in your bedroom so you see your WHY everyday and remember it. From there you want to keep the running interesting. So work in little goals and rewards for when you reach certain distances. If there is a store you like set it up that you run to that store and for doing so you buy yourself a little reward. By doing that every now and then you can have a reason to run to your destination and you’re giving yourself a reason to make that distance. Just remember however far out you run you have to make it back as well lol…….Good luck!!!!

  3. Hi Dawn,
    I know how you feel. I’ve been there done that and survived! Actually survived enough to be training for my first 1/2 marathon this coming May!
    One of the things that has really helped me (I have learned so much from the clinics) is being part of a pack. I signed up to the Running Room here in Toronto and they have been fantastic.
    One of the things that really help in training – imho – is starting off slow. Starting off slow and warming up your legs. Try starting by running “pole to pole” and then walking from pole to pole. Do this for about 6 times until your body slowly warms up. And then your off running. I know the program your doing the Couch to 5km and its pretty good. The other really useful tip is that you don’t need to take huge, long strides or even lift your legs high – try running smaller steps and remember to use your arms as your arms will lead your feet.
    For me the first couple of KM are always a bit of a pain and I ususally grumble until I’ve caught my stride 🙂
    Dont beat yourself up, do the best that you can and start slow, breathe slow and deep and try and eat cleaner and you’ll do great! Good luck!

  4. Hi! I’m doing the couch to 5K – I just finished week 5 today. For those of you following along at home, that means that today was my very first 20 minute run! I did it! Can’t believe it. If I were you, I’d give the program another try. (just sayin’) I have not previously done any running. I have found that I can regulate my breathing by matching it to my steps – I inhale for three steps, and exhale for three steps. Sometimes, I fall off the zen wagon, and it’s focusing on my breathing that gets me back into my stride. I’m really loving this program. I have found that running three times a week has been completely doable, and has allowed my body to recover for the next run. Good luck, however you decide to get back into it.

  5. I hate running too, but lately ran 2k four or five times in the last month or so, didn’t run for about 3 weeks, then ran 5k for the heck of it – I’ve never ran that long before in my life (but I have ran small amounts in the past years as part of my gym routine, but never considered myself a “runner”)!

    Here are my tips for getting it done:
    – music for me is essential. If you have to either stop focusing on the pain in your chest or simply keep your mind occupied ’cause running is boring, get an ipod/iphone and find music that makes you dig deep!
    – I live in Canada, I found as temps improved this spring, my ability to run/breath better drastically improved with air temperature.
    – if you get mad at your progress, try turning it into gritting your teeth and getting back at it and not the couch!
    – run outside and not on the treadmill. You’ll look at that timer, you’ll use the same settings everyday, but if you run outside you are simply running. When you get better, you run a bit faster without knowing it rather than holding yourself back by not changing the treadmill difficulty, plus the scenery is better!
    – be ready to run when the moment strikes. I seem to get the urge at night and often run at 11pm. Leave yourself open to run when you want rather than dreading some sort of deadline to go do it. If you get the right mindset, you can look at your week like that, If you want to run twice a week, you can probably run on Monday, Wednesday, then not run until the next Monday without much loss if you don’t feel like it – when you get in better shape you’ll naturally start chomping at the bit and you’ll likely run more often!

    • Thank you for your comment!! I agree that taking my mind off of running helps. I try to listen to music but it only helps so much because I still have trouble with my breathing. Thanks for your tips!

Leave a Reply

