Fitness updates

Okay so I started Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30: Week 3 yesterday and holy crap was that hard. I thought Week 2 was tough… geez. My legs were BURNING. Damn you Jillian! But I noticed that today I’m not even sore. That’s progress right? Does that mean I’m getting stronger? I hope so!

I have this goal for Thanksgiving that I will do a 5k Run To Feed The Hungry and a part of me feels like I need to go on the treadmill 3x a week to achieve that goal. Now I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again. I HATE the running long distance. I actually loathe it. But I have seen so many friends lose weight through running so I know that I will have to suck it up and do it. I think part of my dislike of it is that many people I know and some that are even heavier than me can run 3-5 miles and I can barely run 1 mile straight. It’s so frustrating. But to lose weight I have to run. What a catch 22. My bf says it’s because of my lung capacity and how much oxygen I am taking in because at about 0.5-0.7 miles I can barely breathe! I swear, one day I hope I can post a message that says “I just ran 2 miles straight!”

I have been working out 4-6 days a week but have I lost weight? I have no idea. I haven’t gone on the scale in a while. I’m actually scared to because I HATE seeing that number go up! I know I’ve gained some muscle but I don’t know how much fat I lost.

I probably won’t post this weekend so I hope everyone enjoys their weekend and see you next week!

6 thoughts on “Fitness updates

  1. I’m just starting out with this blogging thing and randomly happened upon yours, but I wanted to say you can do it! I could barely run 0.25 miles without stopping when I first started running in the fall of 2010, and I just finished my first half-marathon this month! I know that’s a good year and a half of training, but I was able to do my first 5k within the first three months. Just add a little distance each time you hit the treadmill, and you’ll be there before you know it! Good luck!

    • Thanks for your confidence!! Wow that is great! I have 9 months to train to run 3.1 miles. Do you have any workout recommendations or suggestions on how often I should run? Thanks for commenting!

      • I think any of the Couch to 5K workouts are great starting points. I didn’t use one, but looking back, I pretty much followed the same idea. Just keep adding a little more until you get where you want to be. I’m definitely not a fitness expert, but here is my best advice!
        1. Make a really good, upbeat playlist for your runs. Music helps tremendously!
        2. If you can, try to incorporate some running outside. The change in terrain is good for your body and the change in scenery is good for your mind! Always running on a treadmill can make you go crazy!
        3. Don’t forget strength training. I didn’t do this at first, and I regret it! But it looks like you are already on top of this step, so props!

        Again, good luck and let me know how everything ends up!

      • Thanks for the advice! Last year it took me 3 weeks of running to go from running 1/2 a mile straight to 1 mile straight. Running is SO hard! I guess I just need to learn that I am not going to run 3 miles overnight and it is going to take hard work and dedication. I used to do couch to 5k, so maybe I should start that up again.

  2. I just started Jillian’s Ripped and Shred, both level 1, in alternation. Boy, am I in pain! It’s comforting that it gets better with time. No doubt the feeling will pass when I attempt to get up from the sofa 😉 OUCH!
    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

